Polymering

I was never really comfortable around people in politics or in the government.  Let me rephrase that, I can deal with them when there is official business.  But when I am socializing with them, I find that I am at a loss for words and don’t quite know how to act around them.

I can’t bring myself to praise them when I don’t even keep up with their “achievements”.  So I usually just smile, laugh at their quips and bring out my small bag of platitudes.  But it gets awkward after a while.  I get bothered.  I feel like I am not a good host or a good guest.  I notice though that they don’t seem to be uncomfortable.  Either they are and they’re just used to it or they really don’t seem to notice that I am not contributing much to the conversation.

Jane has a term for that.  Polymers.  Some common synthetic polymers are rubber, silicone, neoprene, plastics …

So yeah, I was a polymer at several instances this week and the last.  It is no easy work to be a polymer.  It is tiring work.  Truly.

One thought on “Polymering

  1. Pingback: More Polymering – Omnia Mea Mecum Porto

Leave a Reply

