Upper Body Tension

I was watching my flamenco videos last night and realized that I do not exude strength in my upper body.  That is to say, there is no oomph, no tension.

Flamenco is a recent form of dance for me.  Ballet is really my first love.  And ballet is different.  Ballet’s arm movements are lyrical.  Flamenco must exude power.  Flamenco is passion.  Smoldering passion.

Image Fingers too la-di-dah.

I thought I was slowly getting the expression and felt like I was finally understanding the whole concept of passion.  But last night, yeesh.  I looked at myself and I think that I am still away from capturing the passion of la gitana. I was on the edge of my seat while watching the video, willing myself in the video to shout with passion.

So after watching the video, I stood in front of the mirror and tried to hold my back stiffly and with every movement of the arms and hands, I strained to hold the tension.  O said he could see a little strength.  So I guess I just need to sustain that tension.

Image

No tension at all. Nada.

My photos can be viewed at: http://www.humanlinephotos.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

