Personal

Many people I’ve met in the course of business personalize everything.

Last week I informed a new hire that we wouldn’t be renewing his contract once it expired.  He asked me if he did something to offend me.  He apologized for whatever it was.  I had to assure him that it wasn’t the case and that I was not that kind of person.  It was simply a matter of redundancy.  We simply realized that his position was not required; that his responsibilities could be handled more efficiently if it were farmed out to several existing employees at less cost.  

It’s the same thing with a supplier when we scaled down our orders,  Was I angry over something?  asks their coordinator.

Why can’t it be that their product is no longer selling well and that it was a business decision to maximize capital?  Why do people have to presume that I am angry or displeased or offended?

Sometimes I think I’m dealing with teenagers instead of adults.

3 thoughts on “Personal

  1. I think I would want to know. I can’t change redundancy (unless I have another skill to offer), but I can change my attitude. If my demeanor had led to my firing, I would appreciate that honest feedback. Maybe there was something I was doing wrong, and had no idea!
    Same goes with the supplier– it is good info to know the products aren’t selling, and it’s time to rework strategy and development. And it’s also good to know that my company hasn’t turned vendors away with any sort of unprofessionalism.

    • I wrote down our reasons for not renewing his contract but he didn’t seem to believe it. So I had to explain it in-depth. Took close to 30 minutes to explain to him that it wasn’t him per se but it was just economics. And i think he still wasn’t convinced.

      Likewise with the supplier, they don’t seem to want to believe the reason I give out. I think it has also to do with our culture that personalizes a lot of things.

      Being frank has earned me a reputation for being a terror and they know that I say what is on my mind but they still revert to thinking that I am like most in that I allow personal feelings to get in the way of business.

Leave a comment