Feast

Image

Pineapple hidden behind the flowers. Durian was served later

O and I attended a national convention in Davao City, which is at the southernmost tip of the country.  There was only one word I could use to describe the dinner feast for the last night of the convention – food bacchanalia.

We sat to a dining table where the floral centerpiece was surrounded by fruits.  Bananas, oranges, coconut, pineapple, rambutan, lanzones, mangosteens, pomelos and mangoes.  Durian chocolates and fresh durian were also served after dinner.

And when dinner was announced, there was crabs, abalones, sea cucumbers, grilled tuna jaw, tuna belly, tuna sashimi, an Indian section with nan, roti, lamb biryanis, chili tiger prawns and chicken rendang.  And a host of others that I didn’t bother looking at.

When there are too many choices, my mind rebels.  I ended up eating only a few of the main course and stuffed myself with the fruits.

But I had to take a photo of the fruits.  Never have I seen so many varieties of fruits in front of me.

Leave a Reply

