Breathing Easy

Now I can finally breathe easy. The race is over. Two finished. One skidded. One got lost twice and missed a stamp from a checkpoint. Husband’s official time: 14hours 13minutes. And that’s because they doubled back to check on the fallen teammate. They lost about 30min there. Teammate’s ok although he still has to do the x-rays to rule out anything broken.

I got worried when husband didn’t call on the estimated time they would arrive on the last checkpoint. After an hour past the estimated time, I took to carrying my mobile everywhere I went. Everywhere. After 2 hours, I hoped I wouldn’t be receiving any call from any of his teammates or his teammates’ wives. After another 30 minutes, I prayed – please let it be low battery on his part or maybe a busted comm. That gave me fortitude to last until another 30min when I expected them to have crossed the finish line. 30 min after I expected them to finish, and still no communication, I started having bad thoughts. Finally, he sent an sms. Race over.

Whoo! And finally I could rejoice that second son got into his first choice Uni. I didn’t want to get excited earlier today when I found out he got a place at the premier Jesuit U in the Philippines. I didn’t want to jinx husband’s race.

I’m weird that way. I believe that no one can have it all good all the way. Something has to give.
In this case, I think the accident yesterday on our parked car where a motorcycle fell on our car’s back portion and broke the tail light plus gouged out a nasty dent on the rear end was in exchange for husband’s safety.

All is good for now.

2 thoughts on “Breathing Easy

Leave a Reply

