Oido

It was only last year that I found out that the word that I thought to mean playing by ear, in my mind widow, was actually Oido after the Spanish word oir – to hear.

I have always been an oido person. I play the piano by ear. I dance by listening to how the music is played. I learn a new skill by feel. That should have clued me in to what kind of person I was, intuitive and feeling. But no, I resisted and thought I was a logical thinking person. Practical yes but I guess not as logical as I thought.

And to think it took a business course to make me realise my true self.

So there I was, collaborating on a new choreography based on Oido. But my friend was a counting person. And so I had to break down the music to beats and movements. And there my business course came to my aid. The training of the past 18 months made it easier to access the methodical part of my brain. And so count I did. A bit difficult at first but count I finally did.

And what do you know, the counting improved my dance; our dance. It was easier to share thoughts, to fine-tune the steps and to move in unison. It is a funny thing. You feel but you can not improve if you do not think. You think but you will not shine if you do not feel. It does take two.

I am still basically an oido person but I am no longer exclusively so. I am learning to use my whole brain. For the better.

Leave a Reply

