La Union Sojourn

I went on a road trip to the north of the country. Our supplier graciously assisted me by providing a vehicle to service me for the duration of the trip.

It was a bit uncomfortable when the coordinators treated me like royalty. I mean I was the one imposing on them and told them whatever their usual was, I would follow. But they insisted I tell them what I want. They would call the guard to shelter me from the sun with an umbrella – oh my goodness, embarassing.

But over-all they were good company. And the trip provided me with new insights on this new market. The coordinators were talking about the other dealers – their other businesses, their Manila headquarters, their buildings … On and on they talked and even I who do not care about such trappings of wealth and success felt a slight pang of insecurity. My achievements seemed to pale.

I had forgotten about this feeling by the evening but still, it simply reaffirms that I am not immune to some form of envy. But the good thing is that I already have some sort of handle of who I am. And I knew whatever insecurity I felt then would soon pass.

It is difficult to be a well-adjusted person. There is a slippery slope that appears once in a while.

Leave a comment